Is Snapchat’s new Map feature for location-sharing a nightmare for parents?

Famous image messaging app Snapchat has recently announced a new feature this week that allows users to see where their friends and love ones are posting on a map. This feature makes it look easier to find and communicate with friends and check it on what people are up to around the world. Some internet safety experts have shown worry that it may be another headache for parents.

Parents are being warned about Snapchat new map feature over fears it could pose a risk to their child. This map feature has almost 10M daily users in the UK, and Snapchat has sparked privacy concerns after introducing the new tracking function. This Snapchat map feature allows the people to see the exact location of their friend in real time.

Moreover users can zoom in to see the exact location which may contain exact location of town, street, and even houses or business where their friends are posting over Snapchat.

 

Snapchat reviews about the ‘Map feature’

While the Map feature was introduced the owner of Snapchat announced Evan Spiegel give remarks about the new map feature; “We’ve built a whole new way to explore the world. See what’s happening, find your friends, and get inspired to go on an adventure!”

While a group of parents is concerned about privacy and worried about who can find out their exact location.

 

How does Snapchat’s new Map feature works?

The trending update automatically has location sharing switched on unless users switch to ghost mode. Parents are being warned that this could pose a risk to youngsters and leave them exposed to predators and terrorists. Location sharing can be dangerous, because you are giving up your privacy, which is your right to be where you are without others knowing where you are,” he said. “And there is a slight very slight possibility that someone could be wanting to do you harm and knowing your location is a bad idea.”

Snapchat has a lot of young users on, if your children are on. Please check that they have their location set to ‘ghost mode’, that way no one can see where they are. For doing this make sure app is the updated version and go to selfie mode on the camera. Then zoom out. It will give you the option of changing to who can see your location.

 

yoast seo premium free
%d bloggers like this: